Wfb: Chapter 65

When People Start Talking all at Once in a Meeting, My Habit is just to Zone Out and Start Making up Fantasy Stories in My Head; at Least it is until I Learn How to Sleep with My Eyes Open

<Previous Chapter]    [Index]     [Next Chapter>

K-tan k-tan

I’m climbing the steps of the staircase erected at the pavilion in the center of the room called the Water Corridor.

Leaving tea and some dense cakes with Seimei-san, I leave Seimei-san in the care of Ragnall in order to explore the Water Corridor.

The staircase is only 5 stories high, so it won’t take long.

Though Seimei-san expressed some interest in exploring as well, he lethargically decided to stay behind. I wouldn’t be surprised if he just curled up and took a nap. Please eat the sweets I left behind and regain some energy, Seimei-san.

Luckily, the food in this world is already at a high level. Although sugar cane is impossible in this area, sugar beet plantations have already been established on the 2nd level of the Labyrinth.

Only fried food is a little behind, as oil is more precious and used in other industries as well, but even the street stalls carried some fried food, though at a higher price than other foods.

The cakes and sweets are pleasingly sweet, and the flavors of the other ingredients can be tasted. It’s not some baked sweet that’s just filled with sugar in order to seem luxurious.

It really isn’t all that bad of a world to have ended up in.

Haa… I’ve finally reached the top of the pavilion.

At the top, a globe of the “water” jittered and sparkled, floating above a square pedestal.

This was what I was interested in.

There is nothing known about the people who built the ruins on the 3rd level. Nothing but the ruins of a great, white city was left, and some people say the Labyrinth itself built the city. Even less is known about the Water Corridor.

What is the water that spans throughout this room?

It doesn’t have a blue tinge, rather, it’s clear and glistens with light. It has the texture of honey thinned with water. It doesn’t feel cool or hot, no matter who touches it. It doesn’t stick to your hand and make it wet either.

In order to harvest the ‘water’, a delicate process of splitting some off with a ladle and coaxing it into a bottle is needed. It’s not like it doesn’t follow gravity once you separate it from the corridor wall, but it does seem to want to return to the wall if it’s within range.

I approach the globe of water on the pedestal.

Unlike the rest of the ruins there are picture designs carved into the floor here, and the pedestal was carved to be overflowing with ornate designs.

Like Lor had told me, there is no doubt that this place is the center of whatever civilization built these ruins. Only this place was worthy of being decorated.

As I step closer, there’s a humming vibration in the air.

Somehow, I feel compelled to touch the globe of water.

Well, it was what I intended to do to begin with, so I let myself go along with the atmosphere.

Taking a deep breath, I place both hands on the globe of water.

Ssss

An overwhelming sensation takes hold of me, and I feel like I’m being drawn into the globe of water.

A bright light erupts all around me.

Oh a person.

It’s a person.

A person has come.

How long since a person has last come here?

Yesterday?

1,000 moons ago?

1,000,000 moons ago?

A few seconds ago?

It’s a person.

Oh a person.

A person has come.

It felt like I had plunged into the ocean. Sparkling towers of bubbles seemed to engulf me, caressing my skin and dancing ever upwards.

I definitely hadn’t heard of THIS from anyone!

The most that could happen was a spark of light emitting from the globe – is what the other Adventurers and scholars had told me.

Strangely, though, I don’t really feel like panicking.

Somehow, I have a feeling like, Ah, the sea really is the source of all life, even though I don’t know what this is that I’m floating in.

A sparkling light, like the light from the early morning of a bright and sunny day, permeates all throughout the area within my vision.

Voices resound in my head as I’m taking it all in.

Genderless, with a pitch that changed even in the middle of a word, the voices clamored for my attention.

“Where is this?”

It doesn’t feel like my voice when I speak.

Strange person.

Person who doesn’t know where this is.

To be able to come here without knowing.

Ah, how strange.

No, this is THAT person.

THAT person?

Ah, so it’s that person.

The one closest to us.

So it is.

This place is a place for those who have mastered [Light Magic/Aether].

This place is a place created by those who have mastered [Light Magic/Aether].

Because we are [Light Magic/Aether].

A pleasant tremor runs up my body. I hear both ‘Light Magic’ and ‘Aether’ spoken in the same breath.

I am speaking to the embodiment of Light Magic, something that calls itself Aether.

“Has it been a long time since the last person who knew of Light Magic came here?”

Time?

What is time?

Yes.

No.

What is time?

There are only records of people who could use Light Magic from ancient days. When I asked Lor about all the elements, both Light and Dark are elements that are no longer understood well. Those who can use them to an extent can only use them in imperfect spells.

Somehow, I get the feeling that the last people who came to this place and talked to the Aether were the people who had built the ruins.

Centuries upon centuries have passed since then, but to Light Magic, it could be seconds or eons. Light Magic has nothing to do with time, huh?

“What do you mean by the person closest to you?”

It was us.

Our doing.

It was us who called you.

It was us who brought you.

You and your kind.

It was us who received compensation.

For you and your kind to come.

We brought you.

You and your kind.

Because we were asked to.

Because we received compensation.

From your world.

To this world.

It was us who brought you.

You and your kind.

A different sort of chill runs up my spine.

What! What is this? To think I’d hear something so important here, so unexpectedly!

I swallow hard, an unpleasant feeling erupting from the pit of my stomach.

“Why did you bring us here?”

Because we were asked to.

Because we received compensation.

From your world.

To this world.

We brought you.

You and your kind.

Because we were asked.

Of course. If this is Light Magic, then there’s no reason for them to do so. Or like, there’s no such thing as magic that has its own will. They did it because someone asked them to.

There’s someone out there that knows who we are because he, she, or it summoned us here, and we have no idea what that someone intends to do by calling us here.

Could it be a country like Carnus? An evil wizard? A divine sage?

Not knowing anything about it, I’m suddenly drenched in cold fear.

“What … was the compensation?”

Life.

All life born of [Light Magic/Aether] must have life returned to [Light Magic/Aether].

Life born of [Light Magic/Aether] requires much more life returned to [Light Magic/Aether].

Many lives returned to [Light Magic/Aether] for one life born from [Light Magic/Aether].

That is the compensation.

The compensation was paid.

We brought you here.

You and your kind.

With the compensation.

Then your bodies were born.

Out of [Light Magic/Aether].

Because we were compensated.

We brought you here.

Gave you bodies.

From [Light Magic/Aether].

This really isn’t making me feel better about the situation.

“Can you send us back?”

Impossible.

Impossible.

Not possible.

There is no one on the otherside to pay compensation.

There is no [Light Magic/Aether] in your world to call you.

There is no way to make life from [Light Magic/Aether] in the other world.

Compensation was required to call you to this world.

There was need for compensation to transfer you to this world.

The life you had there was sacrificed as compensation.

The stream you were in was close enough.

The information provided was close enough.

For building your bodies, the information we received was enough.

And so we took compensation.

We brought you to this world.

But you were different.

You were different from your kind.

You were incomplete.

Information wasn’t enough.

But we received compensation.

We had to build you a body.

Our wellspring.

To complete your body, we used a wellspring.

You are a wellspring of [Light Magic/Aether].

You are the closest to [Light Magic/Aether].

You are different.

You are now complete.

You are something beyond your kind.

The Spirit Tree, the wellspring of [Light Magic/Aether].

Life incarnate, your body was completed.

You and your kind.

We brought you to this world.

Because we were asked to.

The light and the sensation of water ebbed away, and I came to, finding myself alone, standing at the pedestal with my hands held out in front of me.

“Jun-kun!”

“Jun!”

I hear Ragnall and Seimei-san calling from below.

“Did you feel that surge of magic?”

“Did something happen up there?”

An unpleasant feeling has risen from the pit of my stomach, and now it feels lodged in my throat.

“… Ah, yeah, everything’s fine…”

I hurry back down the stairs.

There’s something I’m going to need to discuss with Seimei-san. The other gamers will probably reach Nyl City by the time we emerge from the Labyrinth. I think it’s only fair that I let him know all of this information before hand.

I think the others would feel more comfortable if he’s the one who tells them.

Later that day, after we blitzed back through the Water Corridor and picked a spot in the Water Maze that wasn’t covered in water, I bluntly tell Ragnall that there’s something I need to discuss with Seimei-san before the others of our kin arrive in Nyl City, and as usual, he takes it in stride.

He prepared the campsite as I sat, talking with Seimei-san with Translate turned off.

Seimei-san’s face has turned dark.

“So what we know for sure is that we were brought here at someone’s request, at the cost of many, many lives. Also, either our bodies or our avatars’ bodies have been killed off and there is just about no hope for going home.”

I didn’t tell him about the details of my creation, just that I was probably separated from them because of my incomplete character status.

“It can’t be Carnus …?”

Considering how the others had shown up in Carnus, I can’t help but wonder if someone in Carnus had called us.

“I think it’s unlikely, but only a fool would completely rule out the case. I haven’t heard of any mass deaths or epidemics, and Carnus isn’t at war or anything, so on the surface at least, they aren’t the ones who paid the compensation.”

On the surface, at least. Like Seimei-san says, we can’t rule anything out, but it won’t do to start suspecting people without proof.

To tell the truth, I don’t suspect Carnus either. Timidly working with the gamers for mutual benefits, it doesn’t seem like that’s how people who selfishly called others from another world at the cost of many lives would act.

But we can’t completely ignore that possibility.

I’ve already been analyzing the cursed necklace Seimei-san had been using up until now, and I think I can reverse-engineer several in case we run into the situation where we’ll need to hide as ordinary citizens of this world.

I will also modify one to have a limit of 5 million MP, especially for Seimei-san.

Now, I take out the ice drake’s body, carefully peel back some scales, and then sever the tail of the drake. I replaced the rest of the ice drake’s body into Inventory.

There’s really not much I can do, but it makes me nervous that Masaki’s in the center of all the attention in Carnus.

That’s what I’m thinking as I carefully remove a set of tools used specifically for shaping monster parts into weapons.

A mithril-edged knife, black steel tongs, diamond coated awl, and a special whetstone called huornell, made from (strangely enough), a type of petrified tree.

This set of tools, naturally, cost quite a fortune. I’ve paid half of it off, and the other half will be paid in monthly installments.

Interest free, since I bought them from Helward’s Forge.

A drake’s materials can only be shaped after heating them with plasma, but it’s not too hard to do if you understand how plasma is formed. I have to move a little bit away from Seimei-san and Ragnall, though.

All through the night I work endlessly on the ice drake’s tail fin, worrying about the future.

The blade is wider than a katana, and the curve is more prominent.

The ice drake blade is fashioned after Middle-Eastern cavalry blades.

As a Dragon Knight, Masaki is experienced in mounted combat – or that’s how the story goes.

I have my doubts about it, but Seimei-san says he can fight well on both ground and flying mounts. Before he advanced to Dragon Knight, Masaki had been a Cavalry Knight, so he still retains the ability to tame and mount beasts other than dragons.

Although he doesn’t have a dragon, it seems he can tame lizard and snake monsters to use his Dragon Knight skills with, but … for all that he likes dragons and dinosaurs, Masaki’s scared of lizards and snakes, so is he going to be ok?

It’s not my fault, right? I didn’t scare him that badly, chasing him around with garden snakes and lizards as kids, did I?

Anyway, even if he doesn’t use it while riding something, the sword is designed to gouge deeply into an opponent, so it should work well with for an inexperienced Masaki if he swings too shallowly.

I’m not sure how well the gamers will be able to use their weapons without actual training. I can only use Seimei-san as a standard, but he is 100% mage. It is a useless standard.

Ragnall takes us back up to the surface through the normal route, and the return journey takes 4 days.

This time we take care to rest properly, mindful of Seimei-san’s stamina.

After 7 days, we emerge from the Labyrinth.

Through Friend Chat, he was able to arrange it so the 3 gamers who came to Nyl City would be waiting in the Guild hall to meet us.

As we enter lobby, a notice pops up in front of me.

『MASA IS TRYING TO REGISTER YOU AS A FRIEND. CONFIRM REGISTRATION: Y/N?』

After so many months, Friend Chat finally connects to Masaki.

At the doors to the Guild hall are several soldiers, as well as 3 Japanese people.

I quickly accept the Friend Registration.


<Previous Chapter]    [Index]     [Next Chapter>


<A/n: … No, well, I planned for this to happen at this point, but at the same time, why do I feel like I’ve been trolling everyone this entire time? It feels like I just gave more questions than answers.>

Categories Wfb

46 thoughts on “Wfb: Chapter 65

  1. Thanks for the chapter and yeah now i have more questions than before but no problem about it just a question is Jun going to explore the world or will she just get fixed in here ?

    Like

    1. she will start wandering kind of soon …. well, not really soon, but yes.

      Like

      1. will she be traveling with others or alone?

        Like

      2. with others. But a small group

        Like

  2. these cliffhangers tho!! and the plot thickens too! crazy good chapter, thank you ~

    Like

  3. Man the worst thing about this is that there are no way to read more cause its not written yet. Thanks for the great work, this is quickly becoming one of my ‘most looked forward to update’. Thanks again

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That was a pretty big reveal.

    Like

  5. Hmmm, I actually think you answered more questions than you raised, though… 😉

    Thanks for the chapter! 😀

    Like

  6. Such a good chapter! But that cliff! The cliff! There is a really good reason I have read this story about a thousand times! Thanks for that awesome chapter! But is it possible to hurry the next chapter? Double post, lessen the cliffs? I’m dieing here! Masaki finally appeared! I can’t wait! I just love your story! Good work!

    Like

  7. Yes and No.
    Yes we have another chapter, and NO that the chapter ended as the story is picking up.

    Like

  8. Thanks for the new chapter!

    Like

  9. How many chapters of this were made while you were zoning out in meetings… LolXD

    Liked by 1 person

  10. There’s someone out there that knows who we are because he, she, or it summoned us here, and we have no idea what that someone intends to do be calling us here.
    There’s someone out there that knows who we are because he, she, or it summoned us here, and we have no idea what that someone intends to do “by” calling us here.

    good job and thank you

    Like

  11. By life incarnate, does that means that she is pretty much immortal or something?

    Like

  12. THIS IS AMAZING!!!! YOU ARE AMAZING!!!! LIFE IS AMAZING!!!!

    Also, I really like the tree. It gives me a quiet, misty, wonderful feeling.

    Thanks so much for all your hard work!!!!!

    Like

  13. Yay! Thank you! Many things to think and wonder about but right now I just want to meet Masaki. 🙂

    Like

  14. is it gonna be something like, oh, so you died, bum bum ba bum (trumpets) you unlocked god powers… and somehow he/she, (don’t even know what to call jun at this point…) has the ability to ressurect dead people… by using a part of her own life force.

    that or

    Jun is just unable to age ._.

    or

    Jun is able to connect to the world directly

    or

    they are able to change their figure cuz, they are only just an incarnation of life

    followup question will there be like a chapter talking about what happened to all the people in the real world? like would it be business as usual, somehow their consciousness is sorta split, like their soul is split in half and the real world them is going about business as usual, and they are actually controlling their character them’s thoughts to an extent, though i feel how this is highly unlikely since you just said they died

    or is it going to be like, everyone has gone missing, what do we do? ermhagad they disappeared without a trace and they start investigations, and figure out it has something to do with the vrmmo headsets, cuz literally all of them had that in common,

    or is it going to be a, if they die, people forget about them

    or since they were transferred, the world was corrected so that they never existed.

    😛 conjectures ftw :3

    Like

    1. If we do ever get a side story (Earthling POV), Masaki and Jun having either died ‘normally’ or straight up vanished in an internet café link pod. It’ll be some kinda of awkward.

      Like

    2. life incarnate is referring to the tree as an explanation why they were able to use it

      Like

  15. Yay! Finally we’ll see Masaki again!!! I’ve been waiting for this for so long! Honestly I’d like to ship MasakixJun but at this point I’m not even sure if that couple would be straight or yaoi! 😛 OR if there’ll be ANY romance at all.( -_-‘) But thank you for the chapter! I really look forward to your updates! 😀

    Like

  16. Clearly, they were summoned by a whale at the cost of many krill.

    Also, have we found the source of the false stars?

    Thanks for the chapter!
    (And the traumatised Masaki)

    Liked by 1 person

  17. WHAM.

    Way to go, KlinH, good job.

    Like

  18. Thank you very much for the chapters. The last few have been great, though I worry how well they story flows for someone binge reading. The chapters work well in small chunks, but a lot of the development seemed serendipitous instead of deliberate, which typically annoys me if it happens too close together.

    chapter 64

    going at a pace that most people would have fainted under long ago
    would have fainted at
    or: “at a pace at which”

    Like

  19. well, so she really did absorb the tree, I want to know what exactly is up with her now tho

    Like

  20. “Oh a person.

    It’s a person.

    A person has come.

    How long since a person has last come here?

    Yesterday?

    1,000 moons ago?

    1,000,000 moons ago?

    A few seconds ago?

    It’s a person.

    Oh a person.

    A person has come.”

    –> DORY ???

    😉

    “It was us who called you.

    It was us who brought you.

    You and your kind.

    It was us who received compensation.

    For you and your kind to come.”

    –> mega Plot twist … mega coool !

    “You are something beyond your kind.”
    –> super extra califragilistic !… now, please expand on that, on how is JUN beyong even Mega-Mage-Seimei ? (well, I got that Jun can learn much more than Seimei, and has many ultra perks in creating her own magic… but I meant… on top of that ? what does that mean “being born using a wellspring of Aether???” )

    “It’s not my fault, right? I didn’t scare him that badly, chasing him around with garden snakes and lizards as kids, did I?”
    –> well done part of small humor !!!

    with friendly admiration,

    truly yours,

    self-mockingly,

    Calavente

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Hmmm…. remind me of the previous chapter, lightmagic and fluffy Jun is more delectible than dark magic Seimei lol.

    Like

    1. … following that train of thought…. since dark magic is, no longer used…. is seimei the vessel of dark magic like nun is for light magic? That’d explain his ridiculously op magic.

      Like

  22. drools *

    Plot! YUMMY!

    Like

  23. CLIFFHANGER INTERNALLY SCREAMING

    Like

  24. Interesting it is good to have some closure in regards to how they were summoned now we know that some OP being did it using the dark arts of mass sacrifice. Usually implies they were either desperate following the ends justify the means path or were outright evil… well that will be interesting if it is the latter they probably have something that they can use to extort control…

    Like

  25. Awesome chapter!

    Like

  26. UGHHHHHHHH STUPID CLIFFHANGER WHY does this book have to be SO FREAKIN AMAZING?!?!I mean, seriously. Not fair. PLEASE UPDATE SOON, author sama, and thank you as always

    Like

  27. Dang it Jun, you asked what the compensation was, but didn’t think to ask who was it that offered it?

    Like

  28. I’m ready to jump off a cliff! so please don’t keep me hanging~

    Like

  29. haha, and here I was thinking I had a favorite novel on your site. This is so well done! I love the new added elements but was also gratified that Jun also thought that was a random but super important clue. I love your works so much so thank you!

    Like

  30. So…was rereading this…and…the light magic/aether mentions “The Spirit Tree”……….is this the same spirit tree that Jun sees right after ‘transferring’…as in, it was more like a dream before waking up in the new world, maybe?

    I mean, I DID think it was kind of suspicious that he went from sleeping next to the spirit tree…to awakening in some random location that was QUITE OBVIOUSLY different, heh. Is that the tree they’re talking about, though?

    So…they had Jun ‘absorb’ that tree to ‘complete’ (him/her)self?

    It does raise some questions I’d like the answers to (even with the latest chapters, heh)…but I somehow doubt we’ll get them anytime soon. =x

    Like

    1. Another thing to add here…what if the ones who ‘summoned’ them were actually the ones from that civilization that made those ruins originally? Maybe the lives sacrificed were actually those of THEIR civilization?

      I mean, the Aether doesn’t seem to have a concept of time, after all…so even if that civilization did it ‘some time ago’…maybe the Aether only did it ‘now’…or maybe there’s some predicted event coming and they made that sacrifice to have people summoned who could help take care of said event. =x

      Like

  31. hi,
    thanks for the story

    typo
    work well with for an
    either “with” or preferably “for”
    –>work well for an

    Like

  32. …. I, uh, really hope that nothing too untoward happens if Jun dies. Like “there’s no more source of Light Magic, all life slowly dies off or gets replaced by the undead” or something.

    Like

  33. Every time I read this I always hear the Aether in my mind as a bunch of happy/creepy sounding children talking rapidly in quick succession. Gives it/them just right amount of innocence/cold-bloodedness to make what they were able to do terrifying.

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close